“So This is the New Year…

…and I don’t feel any different.”  I fully agree with this sentiment from Ben Gibbard.  Although I do suppose this year has potential to be quite a new experience for me.  As last year was a year rife with monumental benchmarks of life (turning 18, graduating from high school, starting college, etc.), this year has the potential to be equally noteworthy.  This is mainly due to the fact that now the novelty of these new experiences has worn off and now is the time to really buckle down and focus on the endeavors that I have begun.  And part of that for me is furthering my photographic self.  So, I have set a hand full of goals for myself to keep in mind throughout the year, a.k.a. resolutions.  While this may be super cliched these are things that I genuinely feel I need to improve upon.  So, some of my my photographic new year’s resolutions are as follows…

1.  Take more risks.  This is especially pertinent in shooting sports, because there are usually only so many ways to shoot a game.  So I will try to explore more creative ways to look at the world, and be okay with throwing an entire shoot in the hopes of getting that one, truly unique shot.

2.  Don’t have as many “Dude, why don’t I have a camera with me?!” moments.  This one should be easy enough as I have my own camera now and don’t have to resort to heading down to VisCom’s check out room every time I want to take pictures.  

3.  Work on being not only a photographer, but a journalist as well.  This basically boils down to focusing on telling a story each time I pick up a camera.  Pretty much the reason why I’m going to school, but still, always nice to keep in mind. 

So, all that being said, here’s to what will hopefully be a great year.  And here’s some pictures…

 

young_basketball_0006young_basketball_0014_dsc1218

Leave a Reply

