Friday Night Golden Lights

So, I’ve been back in my favorite place for a few days now and fallen a bit behind on my blogging from Grand Rapids. So hopefully I’ll be able to catch up with that stuff in the next few weeks but in the mean time here’s some shots from a football game I shot last week in Reedsville for the Messenger. The best part about shooting football in the beginning of the season (aside from just the fact that football’s back) is that usually for the first drive or two you get just unbelievable light. Then for the rest of the season it’s complete crap so you gotta make the most of it while it’s there. So here’s some shots from the first game of the 2011 football season.

48 thoughts on “Friday Night Golden Lights

  1. Beautiful light, I agree, that is special. Although from my perspective, that light (and the smell of the field and concessions) is linked with the marching band first half-time shows of the season…

  2. I love these so much. Words cannot describe. I am a Canadian with a special kind of awe reserved for American football fanaticism (which is partly informed by TV shows like Friday Night Lights, and thus cannot be entirely trusted).

    Thank you for sharing these!

  3. Love these pictures, and also the portraits in your follow-up post! Even though I rarely ever watch football, I’ve been really interested in the way sports, football especially, are captured on camera, ever since I started watching NBC’s “Friday Night Lights.” The light in that first shot is great. All of these look really epic, and you get a really great sense of team spirit. Looking forward to browsing around more of your blog, and following new posts.

  4. Nice shots. I am the end zone video guy for our football team so I get unique perspectives from about 30 feet on high. Then up close when they are at my end of the field. Football season, nothing like it!
    Congrats on being FP!

  5. Very nice indeed – LOVE the first one πŸ™‚ Not ever shot American Football…in fact, I don’t think I’ve even ever watched it live…This is now definitely one on my ‘to do’ list.

    Great job πŸ™‚

  6. Football sentimentality is special. I can’t get into it as early as it starts (especial NFL pre-season), but admit is is a special harbinger of romantic Autumn. Kudos on getting Pressed like a Freshly-fallen leaf.

Leave a Reply

