Swing and a Miss

I’ve always said that baseball is one of my favorite sports to shoot. The slower pace of the action gives me plenty of time to play around and let’s face it who doesn’t enjoy going out to a good old ball game, especially when the weather is nice. However, because the action is so far in between it can also be one of the most frustrating sports to shoot. It’s alot of waiting with the camera to your eye and watching nothing but balls, strikes and foul tips. There are some games where I feel like a batter who just can’t get things going at the plate. You may only get 4 chances to prove yourself in a day, and if you swing and miss and go 0-4 at the plate there’s not much you can do. It happens to all the best players (see Albert Pujols circa April), and it happens to photographers too. However, when you do get something interesting out of a game it feels even more special because of how rare moments can be. I wouldn’t be so bold as to say I’m putting up Josh Hamilton numbers on this season, but I’d like to think I’m having a decent season, batting around a solid .325 average with 20 RBIs. But, that still means that 67.5% of the time I feel like the Athens Bulldog player above, swinging at nothing but smoke.

Leave a Reply

