AT&T National – Practice and Pro-Am

So, to get everyone caught up on what’s going on my life, I’ve been out in D.C. interning at The Washington Times for the past few weeks and while adjusting to life in the city has been a little hectic it’s been a great experience so far. I’ve had some cool assignments in these first few weeks, but one definitely takes the cake; covering the AT&T National golf tournament all of last week. I’ve always said that one of the reasons I got into photography (sports photography especially) was because I’m, at best, a very average athlete. However, golf has always been the one sport that I’ve been slightly better than average at and the sport that I’ve been most passionate about (more about that later). So, when I found out that my editor was gracious enough to let me spend all of last week out at Congressional Country Club covering Tiger’s invitational tournament I was about as giddy as humanly possible. I spent the first three days (Monday’s pro-am, Tuesday’s practice rounds, and Wednesday’s pro-am) trying to get acclimated to shooting golf on a professional level (I’ve only ever covered high school before) and learning the course.


One of the big stories headed into the week was Beau Hossler, who at age 17 was playing in his first tournament since catching the eye of the nation contending in the U.S. Open a couple of weeks before. I was able to spend a little bit of time with him and his coach/caddy/godfather, Bill Schellenberg, on the range before the tournament began.

And then of course there was tournament host Tiger something or other, I forget his name.

And Ryder Cup captain Davis Love III…

And 2011 U.S. Open (which was held at Congressional) low amateur Patrick Cantlay, who was clearly excited to be playing in the pro-am.

And then more of this Tiger fellow…

Leave a Reply

