Swing State Electionmania

You may or may not have heard that there was recently a presidential election in these here United States. I know the results have already been announced, but I was busy that night so I DVRed the election night coverage and haven’t had a chance to watch it yet, so, no spoilers in the comments please.

But anyways, I had a great time covering some of the attention Ohio received because of its swing state status. Here’s a collection of shots from throughout the campaign trail, mainly from the Columbus area.

In my short career I’ve been lucky enough to have photographed POTUS a handful of times already and most of the stuff I photographed on this campaign was pretty par for the course. However, there was one event that had a very different feel to it, and that was Obama’s final campaign stop in Ohio, an appearance with Bruce Springsteen and Jay-Z at a nearly capacity level Nationwide Arena in Columbus. This event was much more rock show than stump speech and the difference in energy was really palpable.



Like I said earlier, I’ve photographed some pretty big celebrities and exciting things over the last couple of years but I won’t lie, watching Jay-Z introduce the President following a performance of “Encore” was probably one of the cooler things I’ve witnessed thus far if for nothing than the sheer “is this really happening right now?” aspect of it. It was definitely weird to see the lines between pop culture and politics blur so completely, and I love weird things.







Leave a Reply

