7.30.12 – Redskins Training Camp or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the RGIII

Robert Griffin III has a laugh on the bench with his fiance Rebecca Liddicoat after signing an autograph for a young fan following Redskins' training camp at Redskins Park, Ashburn, Va., Monday, July 30, 2012.

Robert Griffin III has a laugh on the bench with his fiance Rebecca Liddicoat after signing an autograph for a young fan following Redskins’ training camp at Redskins Park, Ashburn, Va., Monday, July 30, 2012.

So, I was originally planning on posting an “end of the year, favorite images of 2012” post, but due to some technical difficulties that post will be delayed indefinitely. Instead, I thought I would share some photos of an athlete who rocked 2012 like nobody’s business.

Okay, I’ll admit that the title of this blog post is a little misleading, I never really had any doubts about RGIII, I just like making Dr. Strangelove references whenever possible. So, while I knew that the Skins singing Griffin was a big deal I don’t think I truly understood just how much he meant to the District until I attended my first training camp during my internship with The Washington Times. People were going absolutely nuts just to get a look at the guy, and where some athletes might have cringed at this type of admiration and pressure before even taking a snap Griffin seemed to embrace it with a cool sincerity that only further endeared him to the fans. Really, it seemed like everyone was smitten with RGIII’s playing ability and personality, even Mike Shanahan.

REDSKINS_20120730_151

And I was really happy to sit back and watch Griffin’s success as an NFL fan. It’s sad to see his postseason end in such a tragic way (especially as painfully captured by Al Bello) but you have to believe that he’ll be back baffling defenses and charming the media in no time. At least for the hope of RGThreever and the sports future of the D.C. area.

GR_2012-07-30-9133_RMLY

Leave a Reply

